Looking after the people around you this Christmas season.

We are currently going through some unpredictable times and a lot of uncertainty is surrounding us. It coming up to that time of the year which we call β€˜the most magical time of the year’ but this Christmas I think it is going to be slightly different.

As much as you need to look at yourself through these difficult times because your own needs are as important as anything else is. We also need to think of the wider picture which is the people that are around us because there are going to be a lot of people who are struggling this Christmas.

There are going to be some people who are facing spending Christmas alone due to family deaths or at the moment we still don’t know if we will be able to spend Christmas with our families. As much as we have been told we can see family now some families still are very unsure about mixing. With all this uncertainty that is still facing Christmas, we need to keep thinking about KINDNESS.

In your little bubble/life everything might be fine and your not worried about the prospect of Christmas but what you do need to think about is that there are going to be a lot of people especially this year who are going to be feeling isolated and lonely.

I wanted to try and help people as much as I possibly can by giving you all a few little tips on how you can help the people who are around you through these tough times. Just by helping the people around you in the smallest way might make a massive difference to there day.

✨ 5 tips on how you can help others this Christmas season ✨

There are so many different ways in which you can help people in your local area plus the people who are around you. These are just a few of the ideas that I have come up with. You might already know a way you can help someone this year which is brilliant whereas others might not.

Support your local food banks

Due to the coronavirus and the fact people are struggling for work currently more people are relying on food banks more than ever. So if you are sorting through your cupboards recently and you have found some food that you know longer want why not donate it to your local food bank.

Do some shopping for a neighbour or family member

Is one of your neighbours currently self-isolating, ill-health or elderly and need some shopping doing even if it is just a few essential bits. I am currently doing my shopping for my grandparents every week and this makes a massive difference to them because they feel safer staying indoors.

Support a small business

We all know that all type of businesses are struggling at the moment but more importantly, small businesses are, so buy something from a small business to support them. When it comes to buying Christmas presents have a look around because there are so many beautiful gifts from small businesses.

Phone call

Having a good old chat with each other is currently something that some people are craving especially through these isolating times. Before these times I hardly made phone calls because they made me feel so anxious whereas now I speak to both sets of my grandparents every day and I know they appreciate it!

Writing a Christmas card

This might seem like something that wouldn’t make a difference but I know that some people don’t even receive Christmas cards because they are lonely. My family always try and write a Christmas card to every single one of my neighbours plus my grandparent’s friends who we know just keep that communication there. You can buy a box of 20 cards for Β£1 at the moment.

I’ve spoken a lot about the elderly generation feeling lonely during this time of year but young people struggle at this time of year too but in fact, anyone can struggle at this time of year it doesn’t matter your age. If someone is lonely they are going to feel as if they are a burden on you so it might take a while for them to open up to you but you just need to make them feel like not a burden and that you’re happy to listen and help.

This is just your little reminder that just because you can’t see what is going on in someone else’s life it doesn’t mean it’s not happening. Remember to reach out to family and friends and keep connected to them because communication is key. You might make a massive difference to someone else’s life today without even thinking so.

If you know one of your neighbours is going to be lonely see if you can help them this Christmas even if it’s just in a small way!

I know that I haven’t written a blog post in a very long time but I’m hoping to get back to it know more than ever I’ve just been trying to deal with a few things in my personal life.

I hope everyone has a lovely Christmas this year and a happy new year !! πŸŽ„πŸŽ…πŸ»

How are you feeling about the prospect of Christmas this year? Let’s chat in the comments I’ve missed talking to you all πŸ’—

Thank you for the support as always I wouldn’t be doing what I am doing today without you all. If you would like to keep up to date with me and see what I do in my normal day to day life check me out on Instagram πŸ’—

Lots of love πŸ’—

Tips on how you can help the people around you this Christmas season

2 thoughts on “Looking after the people around you this Christmas season.

  1. These are some great ideas. I’m definitely wanting to help and support the people around me this Christmas. I’ve always donated to food banks but I know I can do more after what has been a difficult year.

    Like

Leave a comment