4 tips on how to appreciate yourself

I think something we all struggle with from time to time or sometimes some of us struggle with this more than others is Learning how to appreciate yourself. It isn’t something you can just magically learn it’s something which takes a lot of time and dedication to yourself to work on. It’s something I’m trying to improve and while we are all in (lockdown) I thought it would be a good time to learn how to appreciate myself.

What will happen when you start to appreciate yourself ? When you actually start to appreciate yourself you will stop thinking about yourself in a negative way, the comparison from others will not be as important anymore you will start to actually known your worth.

4 tips on how to appreciate yourself

Appreciate your worth

The first stage I’m learning how to appreciate yourself if you need to learn your worth. Start by having the mindset that is you are worthy of being on this earth, you were put onto this earth fir a reason oh are no less worthy than anyone one.

Bear with me for one second here. Take a deep breath in and out now put your hand on your heart feel that beating, that is your heart telling you that you are alive and you are worthy of being alive you wouldn’t of been given a heart if you wasn’t worthy of being on this earth !!

Get rid of self criticism

We are all guilty of self criticism from time to time if you didn’t criticise yourself then who are you. It’s the difference between criticising yourself every so often or criticising yourself everyday.

You need to try and get rid of that self-destructive mindset and start focusing more on the positive side of things. If you have been self criticising yourself fir a long time it can be very hard to stop because you are so use to criticising yourself that it has become ‘normal’.

It’s not just self criticism you need to get rid of you need to try and not focus on other people’s criticism of you either because remember there opinion doesn’t have to matter at all this might seem selfish but it isn’t because you are focusing on yourself instead.

Focus on what you have achieved

This is something I have always struggled with when you read the caption ‘ficus on what you have achieved’ that doesn’t seem that complicated but when you have put yourself down for so long and you’ve focused on everyone else’s achievements instead of your own it’s hard to just focus on yours for once.

Start by making a small list if things you have achieved in your life so far, list 5 things you have achieved so far. They don’t have to be big or small it doesn’t matter all what matters is your focusing on your achievements. Here are mine –

  • Started my blog
  • Started to have driving lessons
  • Completed my GCSE’s and college qualification.
  • Looked after and cared for my neighbour for 4 years.
  • Joined styling social and appeared on camera on my Instagram.

See you have achieved things !!

Allow compliments

Another thing a lot of us are not very good at is receiving compliments, if we do receive one we try and brush part it and ignore it or try and deny it. What is the reason for this ? A lot of the time the reason for this is we don’t believe what other people are saying and we don’t actually see our own potential until it’s proven to you. The more you actually start believing others the more it will be become true and the more you will accept it but remember not everything that other people say we have to believe especially the negative.

I hope these 4 tips will start to help you appreciate yourself a little bit more. I think we all need to start being a little bit more accepting of ourselves and believe in ourselves a little bit more because this is when you will start to see your full potential and actually believe in yourself.

Lately I’ve been writing a lot of blog posts surrounding the topics of personal development which means working on yourself to improve you and be the person who you want to be. If you too would like to start improving yourself then here a few blog posts that might interest you.

4 tips on how to stop comparing yourself to others

6 ways on how to start appreciating yourself

6 reasons why self-care isn’t selfish

Let’s chat – Have you struggled with appreciating yourself ?

Thank you for the support as always, If you enjoyed this post please like and comment and follow. If you would like to help me to make my website self-hosted then please use the link, it would be greatly appreciated https://ko-fi.com/D1D4V3G4

25 thoughts on “4 tips on how to appreciate yourself

  1. I’ve always struggled with appreciating myself and it’s definitely something I’m still working on. Self criticism and not allowing myself to accept compliments are the main ones I struggle with especially. I think for me the first step was to look at what I’d achieved rather than focusing on everything that I hadn’t. I don’t think I’ll ever be fully there with appreciating myself but taking a good look at my achievements was really helpful! Thanks for sharing 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s definitely something I’m still working on and I don’t think it will happen straight away either !! I think it’s a working progress for everyone. Thankyou for reading & commenting x

      Charlotte 💓

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sarah Eliza

    Taking compliments is so difficult and I always try and deflect them ahha. I have noticed I’m taking time to celebrate my achievements – whether it’s long terms big achievements or just soemthing I did well at work 🙂

    Sarah x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Same for me too I’ve always struggled to receive compliments too !! I’m glad to here that your starting to celebrate your achievements. Thankyou for reading & commenting x

      Charlotte 💗

      Like

  3. Boss Babe Chronicles

    I love the list of achievements! It’s definitely looking like a good thing to do when you need a reminder of how far you’ve come.

    Like

  4. Lisa Alioto

    Allow compliments – that’s a big one for me. I’m quick to dwell on criticism and feedback but I brush off compliments. I need to learn to simply say thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: May’s Monthly review and a little sneaky life update – TimeToTalk 💗

Leave a comment