20 Self – discovery Journal prompts

If you have been following my social media and blog journey for a little while now you will now I joined an amazing influencers membership to help me build up all of my different social media’s, blog and generally help me gain more confidence in my ability to blog/social media.

We had a live training inside the membership plus if you follow styling social on Instagram you will of seen her talk about it on there. Ellie started to talk about how journaling was helping her and all of these different things which started to make me think …

I always thought journaling was just like having a diary-like you would in school and it’s not important and I didn’t really ever see how journaling could help you discover yourself !!

Okay, I was a little nieve to it I’ll admit !!

What is journaling?

You might not even know what journaling is so I’ll give you a quick overview. Journaling is a way of being able to write down and keep note like a diary of all of the different things going on in your life, how your feeling and you can generally just write about whatever you want to because it’s your journal.

How can I start journaling –

I think one of the biggest things with everything in life is the first stepping stone, which is how are you actually going to do this?

In terms of journaling, I probably do it the none traditional way of doing it if there is away. A lot of people will either have a book which is actually already like a journal or they will have a dedicated notebook where they can just write down all of there thoughts and feelings.

I’m a very tech in terms of how I do things I guess this is just me and this is just how I find it easier. I actually use an app on my iPad called ‘Happiness’ if you look at the picture below this is the app. I find this app really useful for journaling because there are loads of different sections to add different things in so it stays organised and doesn’t get messy and it’s convenient because I’m always on my iPad.

How to actually get started?

Now you know what journaling actually is and how you can actually journal yourself your probably thinking, how do I actually get started? Carry on reading and I will tell you !!

Either get your notebook or iPad and let’s start writing notes !!

One thing I actually found really useful when I started journaling was journaling self-prompts about self-discovery. By having loads of different prompts instead of you having to try and think of different things you can write about these prompts will help you along and give you a few ideas of what you can write about.

My self-discovery journal prompts-

• What am I grateful for?

• What are my strengths?

• What are my weaknesses?

• What could I do better tomorrow?

• How do I feel right now?

• How was your day really?

• How am I taking care of myself today?

• What am I proud of?

• Who inspires me?

• What are my goals for the future?

• What are my goals for this month?

• What is your favourite thing about yourself?

• What is my daily favourite quote?

• How have I practised self-care today?

• If you could give some advice to your younger self what would they be?

• Where do I see myself in 5 years?

• What makes you happy?

• What are you doing today that your future self will thank you for?

• Who inspires you?

• Tomorrow I will not ————

I honestly didn’t think journaling would help me because I thought it would be a waste of my time. I’m so glad I decided to give it a try because it’s helped me so much recently especially when I’m having a day when my mental health or I’m lacking in the belief in myself it really helps to just write or type everything down and get it off your chest and out of your head. Then you’ll able to have a clear mind and a fresh head to be able to achieve what you want to achieve !!

I hope this journal prompts will give you a few ideas of what you can write about for in future !! Why not while you are here bookmark this blog post for in future so you can start journaling !!

Do you journal? Do you want to start journaling?

Thank you for the support as always, If you enjoyed this post please like and comment and follow. If you would like to help me to make my website self-hosted then please use the link, it would be greatly appreciated https://ko-fi.com/D1D4V3G4

Until next time 😊

16 thoughts on “20 Self – discovery Journal prompts

  1. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this! I haven’t done much journaling but I know it’s something that is beneficial. The prompts will be very helpful. The last time I journaled was to release bad memories but I’d like to do something more positive with it. Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. As someone who is a great fan of journaling I love this post. It is important to check up with yourself, to find out more things about yourself and believe me, it is hard to come up with strengths, weaknesses, favorite things etc, at least for me. But once you get it done and if you’re honest with yourself, it’s so worth it, because then you can work on your weaknesses and hone your strengths. Great post, thanks for sharing it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I absolutely love these prompts, thank you for sharing! I keep a bullet journal and this would be a fantastic addition this month. It’s such a lovely way to stay positive and motivated. Thank you for the inspiration, Charlotte. Hope you are having a nice weekend ❤ xx

    Bexa | http://www.hellobexa.com

    Like

  4. myfortytwo

    I’ve never really been a fan of journaling. I’ve tried, but I can never seem to figure out what to write. These prompts have been super helpful in keeping me on topic – especially since I’m also on a self-discovery journey. Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment