4 tips on how to value your own opinion

Throughout my life, there have always been people around me who have an opinion on what I look like, what they think I should be doing etc. No one seemed to care about what I thought because the people around me always thought that their opinion mattered more than my own.

For a while, I actually thought this was true and I would always put my own opinions to the side and value other people’s opinions more than my own. It’s only in the last year or so I have learnt some very important lessons which will help me grow as an individual and learn to love myself.

Learning these few lessons which I’m going to discuss in a minute is so so important to help you on a journey of self-love. A lot of people struggle to love themselves because they’ve always looked at themselves in a negative way. Self-love is a journey which is definitely a process of learning to accept and love again.

Lessons in which I have learnt –

It’s not their life

People will always have an opinion on your life it doesn’t matter what you do or what you don’t do they will still have an opinion and you won’t stop that unfortunately but you can learn to ignore their opinion and value your own more importantly.

There is a difference between only valuing your own opinion and ignoring other peoples opinions. If someone around you is trying to give you constructive criticism to help and you decide not to take notice of there opinion then that is own choice but sometimes the people around you can give you their opinion and it can actually be very helpful, so sometimes it is useful to value other peoples opinion because you get two different perspectives.

What other people think of you can not change you as an individual unless you let them. This is your life you are living not theirs.

You only know what’s best for you

The only person who knows what’s best for you is you, other people might think that they know what’s best for you in terms of having your best interests at heart but that’s different to them choosing what you can or can’t do.

You will make mistakes but that is part of life, you will make mistakes throughout your life it’s the difference between letting your mistakes change you as a person and dwelling on them instead you need to move forward and learn from your mistakes.

Do not compare your life to anyone else’s life

I’ve talked about this a few times in previous blog posts of mine but one of the other biggest things which can have an effect on how you value yourself is do not compare your life to anyone else’s life.

Instead of comparing your life to someone else’s you need to learn to be happy and content with your own life because otherwise you will always be looking at their life and comparing you’re and wishing that you had what they had which can’t always happen so you need to learn to be happy and grateful for your own life.

It’s impossible to please everyone

One of the hard lessons that I have definitely learnt throughout my life is that you simply can’t please everyone because life is to short. Life Is way to short to focus all of your energy and time on pleasing others instead you need to make sure you please yourself.

Everyone throughout your life will always have an opinion on what they think you should or shouldn’t be doing with your life and they will try and help you as much as they possibly can but sometimes you need to do what you want instead. The only person in your life who truly knows what you want to do is you, so if you want to do something which is different and take a different path with your life then that is perfectly fine.

I hope that these few little tips will help you live your life for yourself and not for anyone else because we all know that we’re there at some point throughout our lives. We need to learn to love our life and if we are not happy with them to make adjustments to make your life yours because life is way to short as it keeps proving to us every single day.

If there is ever any other blog post or topics you would like me to discuss or talk about in the future then please let me know in the comments and I will try my best to write the content you would like to see.

Thank you for the support as always I wouldn’t be doing what I am doing today without you all. I would really appreciate if you enjoyed this post please give this post a like and comment and follow my blog for more posts in the future. If you would like to help me to make my website self-hosted then please use the link, it would be greatly appreciated https://ko-fi.com/D1D4V3G4. I hope you have a lovely day and stay safe and well xx

Until next time 💗

 

3 thoughts on “4 tips on how to value your own opinion

  1. Pingback: June and July monthly review – TimeToTalk 💗

Leave a comment